2017 Milwaukee 99 Awards Show & Wisconsin Advertising Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony [PHOTOS]

Monday October 16, 2017

written by Laura Gainor

  • Share

Thank you to everyone that came out to our highest-attended and sold out Milwaukee 99 Awards Show and Wisconsin Advertising Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Thursday, October 12th at the Harley-Davidson Museum! With over 550 attendees from the Milwaukee advertising community, it was an incredible night honoring Milwaukee’s best work from the year and inducting Bob Meyer, Jake Leinenkugel and Michael Voss into the Wisconsin Advertising Hall of Fame. 

Congratulations to Laughlin Constable for taking home the “Best of Show” award for their Experiential Advertising Campaign for the Wisconsin Department of Tourism, titled “Supper Club”. Their team gets the honor to design our 2018 Milwaukee 99 Awards Show. 

Thank you to all of our sponsors and supporters that make the Milwaukee 99 Awards Show better every year! Devil Met Contention, we all enjoyed your performance during the Cocktail Hour. Thank you!

Thank you to Andrew Feller Photography for capturing the evening’s event. Visit our Facebook page to view all photos from the night. 

Devil Met Contention performs during the cocktail hour. 

2017 United Adworkers President, Joe Sutter, Chief Creative Officer of GMR Marketing. 

Gary Mueller, Wisconsin Advertising Hall of Fame Chairman & EVP of BVK opens up the Hall of Fame ceremonies. 

Bob Meyer is a second-generation ad man, Bob Meyer opened his first agency at the ripe old age of 19. After stints at another Milwaukee ad agency and WISN-TV (where he served as Promotions/Publicity Director, with a fully-stocked Madman-worthy bar in his office), Bob opened his second advertising agency – R. L. Meyer Advertising, Inc., which ultimately became Meyer & Wallis. the agency flourished under the leadership of Bob and Creative Director Tim Wallis. More major retail wins followed, including megastore Meijer, based in Grand Rapids, and Pick ‘n Save in Milwaukee. As well as many non-retail accounts. Regular appearances in national advertising publications and international award shows became the norm.

John Leinenkugel toasts the crowd with a Leinenkugel as he introduces his brother, Jake Leinenkugel. 

Thomas “Jake” Leinenkugel represents the fifth generation of beer makers who emigrated from Germany to establish the Jacob Leinenkugel Brewing Company in Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin in 1867. Leinenkugel transformed beer advertising by using the art of storytelling before it became a mandatory part of branding. Leinenkugel tapped into his family recipes for beer – and a penchant for homespun humor and keeping it real – to create a beer brand that’s the stuff of legends. With his “Letters to Jake” radio campaign, the Northwoods of Wisconsin became about as cool a place as there was. And Jake became the guy you wanted to sit down and have a beer with. He was more than happy to oblige.

Michael Voss founded BVK with the vision of building a different kind of ad agency-one without ego’s, politics or corporate bureaucracy. After starting his career in the in-house marketing departments of AT&T, Allis-Chalmers and Funjet, Voss, along with business partner Don Birdsall, started Birdsall-Voss & Associates in 1984. Doubling as Creative Director, Voss quickly established the tiny upstart agency’s reputation for doing great creative work. But it was Voss’s unconventional business philosophy that truly set him apart. His ability to predict industry trends before they happened and his uncanny ability to make great deals, helped Voss make BVK into one of the biggest and most respected agencies in Wisconsin. As well as one of the Top 25 Independent agencies in the country.

Alison Galarza, a student from MIAD, wins the Student Gold Award for her 2017 thesis titled “Mix”. Alison is now an Associate Art Director at BVK. 

Laura Gainor, Executive Director of United Adworkers/Serve Marketing, Joe Sutter, United Adworkers President and CCO of GMR Marketing. 

Hanson Dodge Creative takes home a silver for their Poster Campaign for “CONQUER MKE”. 

Vinnie Besasie takes home a silver for “Red Vines”

Core Creative takes home a silver and bronze! 

Serve Marketing takes home a silver for Birds, Bees and STDs and a bronze for “Safe Never Goes out of Style.” 

BVK takes home 7 medals. 

STIR takes home a Silver for their work with Big Bay Brewing Co. 

Laughlin Constable takes home Best of Show for their Experiential Marketing Campaign for the Wisconsin Department of Tourism titled, “Supper Club”. 

Cramer-Krasselt takes home the most medals of the night, winning 10. 

Ross Lowinske and Pat Laughlin accept the Best of Show wrench for “Supper Club”, created for the Wisconsin Department of Tourism. 

Laughlin Constable wins the Best of Show Award for their Experiential Marketing campaign for the Wisconsin Department of Tourism, titled “Supper Club”. Ross Lowinske, Pat Laughlin and Jon Laughlin of Laughlin Constable. 

Ross Lowinske, Pat Laughlin of Laughlin Constable, Shane Broussard and Sarah Klavas of Wisconsin Department of Tourism, and Natalie Kamenick of Laughlin Constable. 

Hoffman York team! 

Jonah Jahns, one of our student merit award winners poses with his parents at the Milwaukee 99 Awards Show. Jonah’s work also got him the chance to work with the Wonder Wonder team to create the incredible show video for the evening’s event. 

The Serve Marketing team – Deb Mueller, Mackenzie Paschke, Lauren Sutter, Gary Mueller, Laura Gainor, Micaela Martin, Alex Wilburn. 


More from